Champaign County Medical Society Honors Area Physician with Annual Physician Champion Award


Champaign County Medical Society (CCMS) President, Dr. Shamim Sadiq, presented area physicians with the Society’s annual Physician Champion Award at its Fall Membership Meeting held on Thursday, September 13th at I Hotel & Conference Center in Champaign. The awards are presented each year to CCMS members who make a difference with their generous contributions of time and expertise.

Dr. Dave Ramkumar, a gastroenterologist at Christie Clinic, was recognized with the Community Service Award for being a role model for environmental stewardship through his achievements in the Master Gardener program and his award-winning documentary film about the success of a community garden benefiting at-risk children, as well as for his volunteering of his time in the care of under-served patients in Antigua. He was also recognized for the excellence he has consistently demonstrated as a role model and mentor in graduate medical education teaching and supervising residents in the clinical setting.

Champaign County Medical Society is a not for profit organization designed and established to promote the health and general welfare of the citizens of Champaign County, Illinois; to protect the rights and interests of the medical profession; to encourage the development and dissemination of knowledge as it pertains to all branches of the art and science of Medicine; to bring into one organization the physicians of Champaign County, to cultivate a true fraternal spirit among them; and to operate as a component Society of the Illinois State Medical Society.

Contact: Vada Repta, Executive Director;