Champaign County Medical Society Honors Area Physicians with Annual Physician Champion Award


Champaign County Medical Society (CCMS) President, Dr. Michelle Olson, presented two area physicians with the Society’s annual Physician Champion Award at its Fall Membership Meeting held on Thursday, September 14th at I Hotel & Conference Center in Champaign. The awards are presented each year to CCMS members who make a difference with their generous contributions of time and expertise.

Dr. Albert (Terry) England, an infectious disease specialist at Christie Clinic, was recognized for his dedication to teaching and countless hours of educational volunteerism as a mentor and teacher for medical residents for many years, guiding residents in strong clinical reasoning and the practice of evidence based medicine in his specialty of infectious disease. He has spent hours volunteering as a preceptor for residents in internal medicine morning report at Presence Covenant Medical Center. Additionally, he contributes to the community through his advocacy of the arts and humanities through his active committee role at Krannert Center for the Performing Arts.

Dr. Timothy Sehy, a retired nephrologist who practiced at Christie Clinic from 1978 to 2014, was recognized for his dedication to teaching and educational volunteerism for devoting countless volunteer hours to teaching medical residents about nephrology and serving as a faculty mentor for first year medical students. Dr. Sehy provides weekly sessions providing an overview of his subspecialty and has not only taught numerous residents, but also inspired many to pursue this field of internal medicine.


Champaign County Medical Society is a not for profit organization designed and established to promote the health and general welfare of the citizens of Champaign County, Illinois; to protect the rights and interests of the medical profession; to encourage the development and dissemination of knowledge as it pertains to all branches of the art and science of Medicine; to bring into one organization the physicians of Champaign County, to cultivate a true fraternal spirit among them; and to operate as a component Society of the Illinois State Medical Society.

Contact: Vada Repta, Executive Assistant;