2020 Physician Champion Award


Champaign County Medical Society announced two of its members as recipients of the 2020 Physician Champion AwardDr. Michael Kuhlenschmidt and Dr. Japhia Jayasingh-Ramkumar will each receive the Education Service Award. Both demonstrate excellence in educating students and residents in the practice of medicine and are genuinely deserving of the awards.

Dr. Michael Kuhlenschmidt works in the Department of Internal Medicine at Christie Clinic in Mahomet, is a Clinical Instructor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign College of Medicine, and a Clinical Assistant Professor at Carle Illinois College of Medicine. He is being recognized for his exceptional teaching services to medical students and residents and as a role model of the finest qualities of a primary care physician in our community. Despite a very busy primary care practice, he is committed to teaching and provides expert instruction to residents including instruction on biostatistics and is consistently available to support medical students and residents in all manner of instruction, guidance and mentoring.

The awards will be presented at the CCMS Fall Membership Meeting on Thursday, September 10th held via Zoom.